So now what?

artgaycapitolapWith the election over, it’s rather challenging to find topics to blog about…  I suppose I just need to get back into the swing of my typical posts…  In fact, on Thursday night, we had dinner at Canteen and I neglected to take any pictures of my meal – though it was excellent: veal tenderloin, lamb stew, rice pudding.

Proposition 8’s passage continues to weigh on me – though I read a very interesting column by Glenn Greenwald, in which he talks about Obama’s strongly stated opposition to the odious “Defense of Marriage Act” (DOMA) passed in 1996:

I opposed DOMA in 1996. It should be repealed and I will vote for its repeal on the Senate floor.

letter to the Windy City Times

Mr. Greenwald goes on to write about the specifics of DOMA, including Section 3, which “explicitly prohibits the Federal Government and all federal agencies from extending any federal marriage-based benefits, privileges and rights to same-sex couples.”

So, while it seems unlikely that President Obama will tackle DOMA immediately, it provides me with a small bit of comfort that perhaps he will actually work to repeal this law.  Frankly, I’d be a lot happier with “separate but equal” if it meant Chris could collect my Social Security benefit after I shuffle off this mortal coil – and that the two of us had all the other Federal rights and benefits of married couples.

And I can be a little pragmatic on this issue, despite its profound personal effect on my life.  I get that undoing the Bush Administration’s eight year reign of incompetence and lawlessness is going to be a difficult and time-consuming task…

I suppose I do need to try to lighten up a bit, too.  So I promise I’ll post again today with something amusing…  Or maybe when I go to lunch today, some stranger will do something annoying (highly likely!) and I can complain about that!  Keep your fingers crossed…

Leave a Reply

