Did you need to get through? Well, tough shit…

As a long-time misanthrope, it should come as no surprise that I find many, even most, people to be annoying a-holes, oblivious to their surroundings and operating under the assumption that the entire universe revolves around them.

That being said, I don’t always take the time to rail against such behavior (well except to Chris, who really loves to hear me ranting about the injustice of it all… And of course to myself.  I spend virtually all of my time in public muttering obscenities under my breath as I curse those around me), if only for its very commonplace nature.  However, I do take an extra dose of umbrage when I see my fellow bicyclists behaving like jerks, as I’m weary of being tarred with the same brush…

This type of behavior is typically fleeting and difficult to document: flying through a stop light; speeding down the sidewalk amongst the hapless pedestrians (how I long to be carrying a broomstick when this happens…); riding in the wrong direction (especially alarming to see a bike fast approaching head-on while I’m in the bike lane); and just generally being confrontational, entitled self-righteous bastards.

"This book is fascinating! Can't wait to try out some of the techniques..."

This book is so fascinating! I can't wait to try out some of these techniques... Oh wait - I already am!

Or, as was the case on BART over the weekend, there was this fellow (I assume he’s reading “How To Be a Giant Tool”).  Now I may be a self-righteous bastard (as evidenced by the very fact that I’m posting this) – but I do actually try my best not to inconvenience those around me…

For example, were I to take my bike onto BART, I would not park it in such a manner as to block nearly the entire aisle. And do note the added bit of douchebaggery – the bike is also blocking the active door.  Needless to say, Mr. A.H. remained absorbed in his book as passengers struggled to navigate past the obstruction.

If only everyone could be as sensible and courteous as I – the world would be perfect… We can only dream of such a utopia.

Leave a Reply

