Food, Glorious Food

Canelés des Bourdeaux

Picked up some canelés at La Boulange.  Frankly, I don’t even really understand what they are, other than the work of the devil and/or the angels.  Little cakes, baked until crispy and caramelized on the outside, with an interior like a cakey custard…  or a custardy cake…  Eh, who really cares?  They are freakin’ delicious and I could have easily eaten a half-dozen of them, though I demurely only ate two (actually, 1½ – I traded the other half for a bit of my friend’s bread pudding – which was just OK…)  Though I did also get a banana-caramel mini-muffin – a tender little morsel of banana-y goodness…

Eggs and Toast

Eggs-and-Toast

Of course, this (plus another corned beef sandwich from The Sentinel) meant I wasn’t so hungry later that evening, so Chris and I forewent our usual date-night dinner-out.  Instead, I whipped up some eggs-and-toast – which, if I do say so myself, were excellent (I was sooo tempted to refer them as “eggs-cellent”, but chose to exercise some restraint).  Added a bit of sautéed spinach, chives and garlic to the eggs, then topped them off with some quickly-cooked cherry tomatoes and Parmigiano. Quite the nice late night supper… Buon appetito!

One response to “Food, Glorious Food

  1. that’s it!! canales! the name neither of us could recall the other day (due to rapidly advancing senility). oh yummy.

Leave a Reply

