Our Next President

“You make a big election about small things.

And you know what? It’s worked before. Because it feeds into the cynicism we all have about government. When Washington doesn’t work, all its promises seem empty. If your hopes have been dashed again and again, then it’s best to stop hoping, and settle for what you already know.

I get it. I realize that I am not the likeliest candidate for this office. I don’t fit the typical pedigree, and I haven’t spent my career in the halls of Washington.

But I stand before you tonight because all across America something is stirring. What the naysayers don’t understand is that this election has never been about me. It’s been about you.” –  Barack Obama, August 28, 2008

All I can say is that every bit of my cynicism evaporated last night.  Most of it’s back today, but I cannot wait to cast my vote for this man.  In the meantime, I’m sending what money I can – won’t you join me?

Leave a Reply

