Keeping My Eye on The Sentinel

Barbecue Brisket Sandwich

Barbecue Brisket Sandwich

Grabbed lunch at The Sentinel again both yesterday and today (yes, I am a glutton – but that shouldn’t be news to anyone)…  Wow, it’s good.  Yesterday there was a barbecue brisket sandwich.  The thinly sliced brisket was beefy and yummy, with just enough barbecue sauce to add some heat and tang without overwhelming the meat (or making a mess).  And served on house-made flat bread – crunchy crust with a soft interior.  Really good…

Coconut Panna Cotta with Strawberries

Coconut Panna Cotta with Strawberries

Also ordered coconut panna cotta with strawberries – which was tasty enough (strawberries were excellent – and I’m not the biggest fan of strawberries…), but didn’t seem to me to be panna cotta (except perhaps in the literal sense that it was cream and had likely been cooked).  But I was anticipating a traditional very-soft-pudding-like dish; what I got was strawberries in cream – the panna was essentially the texture of heavy cream…  So I was a bit disappointed, mainly because the dish wasn’t what I’d expected it to be based on the name…

Today, I thought I’d try the chicken salad (made with pine nuts, raisins, hot mustard and cilantro – my eyes are rolling back in my head just a bit, thinking about how delicious this sandwich must be…).

Corned Beef Sandwich

But as I was waiting in line, I spied one of the corned beef sandwiches being prepared…  Strips of very lean red meat peeking out from the sides of the still-warm bread… I’m not made of stone – how could I resist this sandwich?  So that’s what I got…

It was a wise decision – the meat was tender yet still a bit chewy, the coleslaw on top tangy enough to almost pass for sauerkraut, the Gruyere gooey and nutty-tasting – and again on that amazing flat bread.  This bore little resemblance to the corned beef I’d had on my previous visit (though I believe that was corned beef brisket…  Is there a difference?  Don’t know…).  Today’s selection was my favorite sandwich to date…

Chef Leary hard at work...

Chef Leary hard at work...

And per usual, Chef Leary behind the counter, methodically assembling his amazing sandwiches and calling out names for pick-up.  All I have to say is “keep it up” (please!) as your sandwiches are quickly becoming a delicious staple of my diet.

One response to “Keeping My Eye on The Sentinel

  1. Are you up to a thousand pounds yet?

Leave a Reply

